× NOTICE: County and City of El Paso Declare Local Disaster Due to Public Health Emergency Re: COVID-19
- View more information - COVID19.epcounty.com
- NEW: Disaster Declaration Related to Risk of Wildfires and Banning the Sale and Use of Fireworks
- NEW: Order No. 9 - Amendment 3
- El Paso County Mobile Drive-Thru Testing - View more information
- Stay Home, Work Safe - View more information

PLEASE READ: Important Information Regarding Evictions for September 4, 2020 through December 31, 2020

MUST Read: CDC Moratorium on Evictions

MUST Read: CDC Tenant Declaration Form

NEW JP3 Eviction Petition Form

Supreme Court of Texas 25th Emergency Order Regarding the COVID-19 State of Disaster

Justices of the Peace Homepage

Contact Information

Office Hours:
Monday - Thursday
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
7:00 am - 3:30 pm

Physical Address:
500 E. San Antonio
3rd Floor, Suite 308
EL Paso, Texas 79901
[view map]

Phone (915) 546-2170
Fax (915) 546-8188

Constable Precinct 3

Justices of the Peace Directory

Precinct 1 - Robert T. Pearson
Precinct 2 - Brian J. Haggerty
Precinct 3 - Josh Herrera
Precinct 4 - Rebeca Bustamante
Precinct 5 - John Chatman
Precinct 6-1 - Ruben Lujan
Precinct 6-2 - Enedina Nina Serna
Precinct 7 - Stephanie Frietze

Find my JP precinct

Search with your address then click on County elected officials to find your precinct.

Search Information


Justice of the PeaceJosh Herrera became Justice of the Peace for Precinct 3 in January 1, 2019. Judge Herrera began his legal career as an Assistant District Attorney for El Paso County, where he prosecuted a variety of misdemeanor cases and continued his career in private practice. Judge Herrera began his judicial career in 2015 as a Criminal Law Magistrate for El Paso County where he served until 2018. Since his tenure as Justice of the Peace, Judge Herrera has served on the following boards: Council of Justices, Juvenile Board, Dispute Resolution Committee, Bond Review Committee, and Criminal Law Committee.

Judge Herrera was born and raised in El Paso, Texas. His mother, an educator, and father, a general contractor, instilled in him the importance of hard work and education. Judge Herrera attended the University of Texas at El Paso and graduated with a B.A. in Political Science. He then attended the University of Utah, SJ Quinney College of Law. Judge Herrera was grateful to return to his hometown, to be a servant to the public, and to do his very best to provide equal access to justice to all litigants in Precinct 3.

Justice of the Peace Local Rules

Legislative Rules for Justice Courts


Does the Cares Act Apply to a Rental?

CARES Act Affidavit

Service Members Civil Relief Act Affidavit

Justice Court Civil Case Information Sheet

Petition: Debt Claim Case

Petition: Eviction Case

Petition: Repair and Remedy

Petition: Small Claims

Defendant's Original Answer

SRL - Debt Claim Defendant

SRL - Eviction Defendant

SRL - Eviction Plaintiff

SRL - Small Claim Defendant

SRL - Small Claim Plaintiff


Monica Carmona: Court Coordinator - mcarmona@epcounty.com

Araceli Molinar: Office Supervisor - armolinar@epcounty.com

Roxanne Chavez: Juvenile Case Manager - rochavez@epcounty.com

Areli Aguirre: Office Specialist, Senior - araguirre@epcounty.com

Graciela Valenzuela: Office Specialist, Senior - gravalenzuela@epcounty.com

Arlene Gonzalez: Office Specialist, Senior - argonzalez@epcounty.com

Sarina Ramirez: Office Specialist, Senior - sarramirez@epcounty.com

Keny Apodaca: Office Specialist, Senior - kapodaca@epcounty.com