- Buying a Vehicle
When buying a vehicle avoid any unwanted surprises. It is advisable that you research the vehicle first. Options available are:
► For a small fee and security of mind, check status of title at:
http://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/buyingorsellingavehicle/titlechecklookbeforeyoubuy to the vehicle you want to purchase to find out if it is salvaged, rebuilt, or was
damaged in a flood. This is one of the most important steps you can take to protect
yourself before making your purchase. Or,
► You may visit any of the Tax Office Branches and/or Full Service Contracted
Offices and a representative can tell you if the title being signed over to you is
correct and if it has any salvage or legal issues.
► Make sure the private individual selling the vehicle, their name is on the face of the
title and properly assigned to you on back of title on the first assignment. If it is
not, then you will need to contact the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles to
obtain instructions as to how to properly title and register into your name.
To apply for title and registration, the following documents are to be submitted to any of the County Tax Office/Branches or Contracted Offices within 20 working days from the date of sale to avoid penalties. Not titled/transferred within 20 working days, application is subject to delinquent transfer penalties of $25 if filed on the 31st day after the date of sale; and an additional $25 for each subsequent 30 day or portion of a 30 day period, not to exceed $250 (except military, delinquent after 61 days).
1. Original title or registration receipt (if from a non-title State). Title must be
properly assigned to buyer.
2. Signed Form VTR-130U (Application for Texas Title) must be signed by the
seller and buyer, plus any other supporting documents, such as a release of
lien or power of attorney (if applicable).
3. Proof of liability insurance (Must meet Texas minimum requirements (30/60/25).
4. The Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR), which is proof of the State Vehicle
Inspection. To obtain a copy visit www.mytxcar.org (if required). If the
vehicle being purchased was last registered or titled outside the State of
Texas, it must pass a Texas Safety Inspection and the vehicle identification
number must be verified by a TXDPS authorized safety inspection station before
applying for Texas title and/or registration.
5. Valid Photo ID (current for the past 12 months): U.S. State issued Driver's
License/I.D. card; U.S. or Foreign Passport; U.S. Military I.D.; for additional
acceptable forms of I.D., refer to: (RTB #24-13)
6. Weight Certificate from a certified weight station if the vehicle is a commercial
vehicle in excess of one (1) ton, trailer or semi-trailer.
7. Fees due at the time of filing.
a. 6.25 percent Sales Tax will be based on the car's Standard Presumptive
b. Application Fee: $33.00 c. Registration Fees:
i. Standard fee for cars and lighter pick up trucks $50.75 ii. Motor vehicles 6,001-10,000 lbs. (includes heavier pickup trucks) $54.00
iii. Automation fee (used for improvements to the registration and
title system) $ 1.00
iv. Department of Public Safety fee to support the TexasSure
insurance verification program and other Department of Public
Safety initiatives. $1.00
v. County Road and Bridge $20.00
vi. State's portion of the inspection fee (may be due at the time
of registration) $8.25
vii. All other vehicles please contact the Tax Office or any of its
branches/contracted offices for fee costs.
Purchases from Texas Licensed Dealers: If buying a vehicle from a licensed motor vehicle dealer, by Texas law, the selling dealer is required to complete and file all documents necessary to transfer title to the motor vehicle and/or register the motor vehicle in the name of the purchaser within 30 days from the date of sale. In addition, the dealer must collect and remit any applicable sales tax to the County Tax Assessor-Collector's Office. Make sure the dealer provides you with a Title Application Receipt showing the vehicle has been title in your name. Should you encounter a problem with the dealer not complying with this requirement, please contact the Enforcement Division at (915) 771-2332 for assistance.
NOTE: No later than the fifth day after the date the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles receives an application for a title from the County Tax Office, will be issued to the first lienholder or to the applicant if a lien is not disclosed on the application. If you have not received your title within 30 business days, please contact the El Paso Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Center at (915) 594-6000.
Selling a vehicle:
1. Title must be in seller's name listed on front of title document.
2. The seller must complete the first assignment of the back of the title to the buyer.
All information must be completed on the assignment: printed name of buyer and
address, current odometer reading, date of sale, signature and printed name of
seller is required.
3. Sign line #23 on Form VTR-130U (Application for Texas Title).
4. Indicate Sales Price on line #22 of the Form VTR-130U (Application for Texas
5. Provide original title document and Form VTR-130U (Application for Texas Title)
NOTE: You have the option to keep your license plates and transfer them to another
vehicle you own; however, you must notify the County Tax Assessor-
Collector in person.
6. It is advisable to complete a Transfer Notification Form (Form VTR-346) and
submit to the TXDMV within 30 days of the date of sale to help protect yourself
from liability for criminal or civil acts involving the vehicle(s) and the buyer(s).
7. It is advisable to accompany the buyer to the County Tax Office or Contracted
Office to ensure transfer is completed and thus releasing you of any liability after
- Registration Renewals
1. Renewal notice (keep the vehicle owner's section for your records)
2. Proof of current liability insurance that meets Texas requirements.
3. All applicable fees plus $1.00 mail-in fee.
4. Current Photo I.D. for all applicants listed on the Form VTR-130U (Application for
Texas Title): Driver License, Identification issued by a state or territory of the
U.S., U.S. Passport or Foreign Passport / U.S. Military I.D., etc. Please contact the
County Tax Office for other acceptable forms of identification.
5. Your vehicle must have a current passing vehicle safety inspection to qualify for
vehicle registration. To obtain a copy, go to www.mytxcar.org
NOTE: Inspections cannot be conducted no earlier than 90 days from date of registration due. Registration and the inspection are in conjunction of each other.
Options to renew:
1. In person
2. On line at www.texasonline.state.tx.us
3. By mail --Mailing Address is as follows:
El Paso County Tax Assessor-Collector
- 301 Manny Martinez Dr., 1st Floor
- El Paso, Texas 79905
(Checks Payable to: Ruben P. Gonzalez, TAC)